Posted by: Bert Copple | April 11, 2011

Meet the Great Lakes Region CAREGiver of the Year

This week we are concluding our highlighting our regional CAREGivers of 2010. These regional winners are eligible to be honored as the 2011 Mary Steibel CAREGiver of the Year, an award that will be presented at this year’s International Convention. Today we’d like you to meet Today we’d like you to meet Rose Marie “Til” Leacock, 2010 Great Lakes Region CAREGiver of the Year.

Paul, a Home Instead Senior Care© client in Pennsylvania, has a singular goal.  His highest priority is staying at home — the place he built and shared with his family and friends.  An increasing inability to care for himself jeopardized his plan. That is until Ron and Christine Krasnansky’s State College and Saxton, PA, Home Instead franchise office paired the formerly independent 95-year-old with CAREGiver Rose Marie “Til” Leacock.

Going on five years, Til has assisted Paul’s dream of aging in place.  “She is a friend, companion and confidant.  We have been through many journeys over the years,” Paul wrote in Til’s nomination letter.  “She keeps my home immaculate, which adds greatly to my peace of mind and comfort.  She is a dynamo at getting daily tasks done.”

I just care,” Til said.  “When I see someone struggle, I’m just not going to stand there.  You can’t walk away from someone.”

Til knows the meaning of home.  She and seven siblings were orphaned whenshe was one year old.  The youngest baby was born on the very day that her father was killed in a coal mining accident, and her mother died two months later.  Family members offered a place for Til and her twin brother only, but their grandfather refused.  “He took charge, saying. ‘We’re not separating the children.  This is their home, and this is where they’re going to live,’” Til said. “It helped me become the way I am, because it taught me to be caring toward people.  There were a lot of people who loved me.”

Til said her friends question how she can befriend clients so near the end of their lives.  “People say they don’t understand how I do what I do.  I tell them you enjoy them every day you can.  The big thing is to make people the center of your life.  And, have compassion,” Til said.

No matter how long she lives, Til will always remember the day Home Instead Senior Care called her to the office because she forgot to sign some paperwork.  “When I arrived, there were a lot of people around.  A big sign said, ‘Til, you’re the greatest.’  And, I thought, ‘That’s different.’  Ron handed me a bouquet of flowers, and I thought, ‘That’s nice.’  It hadn’t clicked it was all for me,” she said. “When I realized I was being honored as Great Lakes Region CAREGiver of the Year, I told them, there are a lot of CAREGivers out there just as good as I am.  We all work hard.”

Lisa is just another fine example of the high quality CAREGivers we have all around the world working for Home Instead Senior Care.

Home Instead Senior Care will provide outstanding CAREGivers to help your loved one with personal care, incidental travel, companionship, medication reminders, light housekeeping, and even meal preparation. To learn more, call 248-203-2273 or visit www.homeinstead.com. Home Instead Senior Care is the world’s trusted source of in-home non-commercial personal care and companionship for seniors. Each franchise is independently owned and operated. And remember, to us, it’s personal.

 

Leave a Reply

Categories

